Breakfast Brain Food

Butter coffee, bulletproof, brain fuel…it’s all the same to me. There is not a morning that I don’t go without (at least one) buttered brew. And this is not me jumping on the Paleo bandwagon- I actually discovered butter coffee before  it flooded Pinterest boards and Ketogenic cookbooks.

My discovery of butter coffee happened through research on dementia and preventable measures. The medium-chain triglycerides (MCT) oils found in coconut oil-predominantly- and in butter help improve brain cell function. This is why people with brain fog tend to notice a huge difference when they switch to a diet that isn’t low fat.

Another study showed that the brain’s production of glucose becomes impaired over time, which happens leading up to Alzheimer’s. With the consistent use of MCT oils, the impairment is delayed. To me, adding a little coconut oil and butter to my coffee every morning is worth the little extra effort if it means I have full cognitive function for longer.

My recipe isn’t difficult, but the trick to butter coffee is to whip it up in a blender, to get a good froth on the top. I use my Magic Bullet so that I don’t have to pull out the big blender for a cup or four of coffee.

For one cup of coffee, I put 1/2 tbsp. of brown butter ghee, 1/2 tbsp. of coconut oil, 1/8 tsp of Himalayan pink sea salt (this helps your body from getting dehydrated from coffee), and 1/2 tbsp of collagen hydrosalate.

When my mornings allow, I drink this as soon as I wake up, and eat a whole breakfast about two hours later, when I am hungry. The healthy fats can hold me over, but I found that when I ate my breakfast with it, around 6 AM, I was hungry again by 10AM.

Butter coffee is really beneficial since the energy is quickly absorbed, and I can use that energy more quickly. As an athlete, if I am working out 4-5 hours after my last meal, or need a pick me up before a late-night lifting session, I’ll have a cup about an hour before the workout to get that fast-activating energy.

The butter coffee is also really helpful in shedding fat, which is why it is so popular in the Ketogenic diet. When the first thing your body absorbs is fat, it learns to become fat adapted, and that is the first thing it burns.

Here’s a butter coffee hack- Starbucks carries Kerrygold butter for their pastries, and the baristas are usually nice about giving you a pack or three to put in your coffee there. They don’t blend it up for you (yet), but it’s a helpful trick if you’re travelling or in a pinch. They also have heavy whipping cream, but that tends to cool down my coffee too much.

that foam though
that foam though

coffee 3

Leave a Reply

