A Day in the Life

I always find it so interesting seeing how people really live and eat. It can spark creativity, or set meals and timing into perspective. I think that writing down a daily food journal is extremely beneficial, especially when you have specific goals in mind. And what better eye-opening and accountable experience than writing it out on the internet?

This day of food is maintenance for me. I am partially putting it out there to see what can be improved. I also want to be able to look back and see how I have evolved over time. It is challenging to see change daily, but when you take a step back every now and then, you can fully see how far you’ve come.

At the moment, I am following a macros plan. My macros are 250 g carbs, 150 g protein, and 85 g fat. I work out twice a day 5 days a week, once a day once a week, and follow those macros Monday-Friday. Saturday and Sunday, I eat lots of real foods, and I don’t go hungry, but I eat whatever my body feels like.

So here’s a normal week day:

I wake up at 6:30, and drink one cup of coffee with 1 tbsp. ghee, 1 tbsp. coconut oil, and 2 tbsp. collagen peptides. Coffee alone has been making me feel nauseous, so I make 1/3 cup of quick oats to eat with it. I consume all of that while doing my makeup and hair for the day, and then it’s off to the gym.

I like to lift or do a barbell WOD in the mornings, so I’ll lift in the mornings for about 1 1/2 hours. Then, I eat 1 cup shredded chicken breast and 2 cups steamed green beans on my way to class.

I get out of class and have lunch around 1. Lunch is one plantain cooked in a tsp of coconut oil, 1 can of tuna with 4 cups spinach and a few squirts of spicy mustard. Sometimes I have a latte with unsweetened almond milk as well

I’ll go to the gym that afternoon for the metcon, which is followed directly after by a protein shake. I mix 1 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1 banana, and 1 scoop double chocolate beef isolate protein.

I work at night, so I go there straight from the gym. I’m lucky enough to be able to eat dinner whenever I want to at work, so I’ll usually eat dinner a little after 8. Dinner is 3/4 cup diced roasted sweet potato, 1/2 cup roasted Brussel sprouts, and 4 oz diced cooked chicken breast.

**I’ve been loving Fed and Fit’s Paleo Chicken and Sweet Potato Breakfast Bowls, since they heat up really well and taste amazing as leftovers. All of these meals I cook up on Sunday, and store in meal prep containers.

I get home from work around 11 at night, and I eat 1 cup mashed sweet potato with 1 tbsp ghee while I get ready for bed. And that’s a day of maintenance eating for me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

