Cinnamon Plantain Puree

I love sweet potatoes. Sweet potatoes are just the best. It’s usually the only form of carbs that I want. There’s just no way to fuck up sweet potatoes. Roast them, boil them, turn them into French fries, make them into a paleo pie…the list is endless.

But, relying only on sweet potatoes for my carb source is taking away the opportunity for different nutrients. And, I don’t want to turn orange from all the orange foods I eat. That happened once before…

When I was a college freshman, I went through this carrot phase where I would eat a huge ass bowl of steamed carrots every night. I was eating about four pounds of carrots a week.

After a few weeks of this, I had to go home for a weekend. The first comment I got from my lovely mother, who hadn’t seem me in months, was “Have you started spray tanning again?”.

She then proceeded to ask if it was self tanner or tanning lotion for about 30 minutes. It was then that I got frustrated and thought about the only thing that had changed about my diet & lifestyle that could possibly make me appear orange. It was then that I remembered the old rumor that carrots turn your skin orange, but I never had believed it.

Unfortunately, it’s not just a rumor. Also unfortunately, I got Jersey Shore comments the rest of the weekend, and had to go to the Mumford and Sons concert looking 5 spray tans in. Those pictures are just fabulous….

3

Anyways, I try to avoid turning orange from my food. And since I only get my carbs from whole foods, I try to get the biggest variety. That’s where plantains come in.

They’re a huge starchy carb source, which I need as a hard gainer. They’re also really versatile, since green plantains taste similar to white potatoes, and yellow plantains taste similar to bananas.

This recipe is one I love to whip up at the beginning of the week, since it’s good to make in batch and stays good in the fridge for a week.

Cinnamon Plantain Mash
Serves: 4-6 Time: 30

Ingredients:
4 large yellow-brown plantains
1 can full-fat coconut milk
1 tbsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt

Instructions:
1. Peel and slice plantains. Place in a medium pot and cover with water.
2. Put pot on the stove and turn the heat on high. Let water reach a boil, then turn down to simmer.
3. Let simmer for 10 minutes or so, until plantains are softened.
4. Remove plantains from pot, and place in a food processor or blender. Add coconut milk, cinnamon and salt.
5. Blend until it reaches your desired consistency. I like mine a little chunky for texture, but it also tastes good completely pureed.
6. Taste to see if you need anymore cinnamon or salt, then let it come to room temperature before storing in the fridge.

plantainz

Leave a Reply

