Sweet Potato Brownie Batter

I don’t know what it is about batter, but I would always eat the batter over baked cookies, brownies or cake. I think it’s the texture, and the fact that you can sit down and eat a pound before you feel full. And by you, I mean me.

In high school, every Friday night my girlfriends and I would always have a sleepover at someone’s house, and it included 2-4 sheets of cookie dough. Like, disgusting amounts. And we would just sit there and consume the sheets of dough. Those were the days…

I still love eating dough and batter, but gluten free cookie dough is ridiculously expensive, like a grass-fed steak would be cheaper. And homemade gluten free dough just isn’t the same texture as its gluteny-alternative. So I’ve given up on cookie dough for a while.

Now brownie batter on the other hand… this recipe nails it. The trick is to make sure the sweet potato is baked well-through in the oven. I’ve tried boiling it, and it just isn’t the same. The oven gives it a caramelized essence.

This stuff is so good that I eat it right out of the food processor with a spoon. And since I have to eat a ridiculous amount of carbs to  1. keep up with the level at which I work out, and 2. continue to gain mass, that this recipe breaks up the monotony of sweet potatoes and makes eating so much a little more fun.

Sweet Potato Brownie Batter

Cook: 1 hour 15 min.                                        Serves: 1-2

Ingredients:

1 large sweet potato

2 tbsp. almond butter

1/3 cup full-fat coconut milk

3 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder

salt, to taste

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 F. Stab the sweet potato all over with a knife, wrap it in aluminum foil and bake for 1 hour or until it is completely cooked through.
  2. Remove the skin from the sweet potato and discard. Place the sweet potato innards with the rest of the ingredients in a food processor or blender.
  3. Blitz until everything is evenly pureed. Taste to see if it needs more cocoa powder or salt. If it isn’t creaming up like a batter should, add a splash of unsweetened almond milk or water.
  4. Eat up, buttercup.

 

Leave a Reply

