Celiac Comeback

Having celiac disease, a.k.a  gluten allergy, makes life very uncomfortable when there is a gluten exposure. Brain fog, distended stomach, dehydration, constipation, the list of symptoms goes on. And unfortunately, this past weekend I had to experience an allergic reaction.

I spent the weekend with some family where the meals were predominately out of my control. It happens, and I’ve learned to adapt. But somewhere in the festivities, I consumed gluten, and spent the rest of the weekend uncomfortable.

It’s taken a lot of time and practice, but I’ve found some tricks that help bounce back more quickly when I have a reaction. The symptoms still last 2-5 days, but these tricks make life a little more comfortable.

  1. Hydration. Getting glutened leaves me constipated and dehydrated, so getting my body rehydrated is top priority. I make sure that I keep a bottle of Smartwater in my hands at all times for the next two days, and drink Kombucha when I can to get a boost of electrolytes and rebalance my pH system. I also drink ginger tea with a shot of apple cider vinegar and make sure to season my food liberally with quality salt, and Himalayan pink sea salt.
  2. Magnesium. I’ll take tablets and an Epsom salt bath. The magnesium helps with muscle cramps and getting things “moving” again. My body is able to reabsorb nutrients, since gluten causes nutrients to leak out of the gut and keeps my body from absorbing nutrients.
  3. Beef liver capsules. I take grass fed beef liver pills to help boost my gut healing process. The vitamins help speed the healing of the gut lining. They also help with the brain fog and boosting my energy back up.
  4. Rest. Having gluten in my system is damaging to my body. My immune system is attacked, and it takes time to bounce back. Giving my body rest to focus on recovery is one of the best things I can do for myself. By not introducing any other stressors, my immune system can target the damaged gut and get it back to normal.
Leave a Reply

