Sunbutter Icing

Finals are finally over. Thank god- I just don’t tolerate that level of stress. I get scholastic acne, tension knots, anxiety and a loss of appetite. I really don’t like failing, or not performing my best. But it’s hard performing my best in 4-5 different subjects all within 2-3 days. I also get a stress rash. No wonder I’m single.

One of the hardest parts is keeping my weight stable, let alone continue to gain weight- which I DO want to happen. Stress stomach is nothing new to me, and I can remember it all the way back to kindergarten. Appetite is the first thing to go, so I have to make eating super stimulating and enjoyable.

That’s how I whipped up this two ingredient sunbutter  icing. I mean, who doesn’t want to eat icing? It’s like crack. No lie, everyone needs it in their life. Low key I want to eat it and only it all day every day. I’ve upped my fats right now and slightly decreased my carbs, and while my performance during metcons has suffered from that, I’m not trying to be number 1 in the gym right now, and I feel better overall throughout the day. This is just what has worked for me.

But seriously, go make this. It tastes amazing spread on banana bread, pumpkin bread, paleo muffins, sweet potato brownies, on a spoon, on your finger…the possibilities are endless.

I didn’t add any sugar since the Sunbutter brand already has organic cane sugar added, and that’s already too sweet for me. But feel free to add a few tablespoons of maple syrup or honey if you want to make it more “dessert-like.”

Sunbutter Icing

Time: 5 minutes                                                  Makes: 24  oz

Ingredients:

1 jar Sunbutter Natural or Creamy

1 can full fat coconut milk (I used Thai Kitchen brand)

Instructions:

  1. Pour the coconut milk and sunbutter into a bowl. If the coconut cream is separated from the coconut water, put the bowl with the coconut and sunbutter in the microwave for 15-30 seconds, until the mixture will blend easily.
  2. Use a whisk* (or fork if that is all you have) and whisk until fully combined. Make sure there are no clumps of coconut.
  3. Once everything is blended together, pour into a mason jar or two, depending on how big it is, and store in the fridge.

*You could make this super quick and throw everything in a food processor. My issue with this method is that it’s hard to get it all out of the food processor and into the jar, and I want to have as much sunbutter icing as possible.

sunbutter-icing

Leave a Reply

