Turkey Tomato Soup

I got to cook Christmas Eve dinner this year! And it was a success! Everyone had something that they liked, and I didn’t feel like dog balls afterward. Dog balls are the worst.

Christmas is always just my mother, sisters and I, and since my mother puts a few hours into Christmas dinner we end up eating takeout or leftovers for Christmas Eve. I never had issues with that until I got a gluten exposure last year from the takeout & spent Christmas Day in the fetal position.

I don’t remember opening gifts and I don’t remember eating Christmas dinner last year. Which is just the worst. So I figured the best way to take care of myself and still eat all of the things was to cook Christmas Eve dinner. And it worked out pretty damn well.

Anyways, this soup is one I whipped up from the leftovers. And it’s amazing. I ate the whole batch, post Christmas dinner too. It was slightly uncomfortable in my stomach. But worth it.

Leftover Turkey Tomato Soup

Cook: 10 minutes

Serves: 2

Ingredients:

½ lb shredded turkey or chicken

16 oz tomato sauce

8 oz water

1 bundle asparagus

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

½ tsp red pepper flakes

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp oregano

½ tsp salt

½ tsp pepper

Directions:

  1. Pour the tomato sauce and water in a sauce pan over medium/ high, until the sauce starts to bubble.
  2. While the sauce is heating up, chop the asparagus into 1-inch pieces and steam in the microwave for 5 minutes.
  3. Once the sauce starts to bubble, reduce to simmer and add the spices, ACV and turkey or chicken.
  4. Stir to incorporate all of the spices, and add the asparagus once it is fork-tender.
  5. Once the meat is heated through, ladle the soup into two bowls and eat up.

turkey-tomato-souo-1turkey-tomato-soup-2

 

Leave a Reply

