Natural Hair Maintenance

Lately I’ve only been having to wash my hair once or twice a week, and it’s been amazing. I know when to wash it again when the ends get dull, and there’s a little bit of grease at the roots. It’s totally manageable, and I love that the only reason I have to wash it is that it isn’t as shiny.

I use a few tricks throughout the week that keep my hair fresh, despite working out twice a day and never using dry shampoo:

  1. Once a week, I use a homemade hair mask. I combine 1 egg, 1 tbsp. olive oil, 1 tbsp. honey and 2 tbsp. homemade mayo (I use the recipe from WellFed.com) and massage it into my hair from root to tip, letting it soak for 30 minutes. I then wash it out with my normal shampoo and conditioner.
  2. I sleep with my hair in two French braids. I leave them loose, so that it creates soft waves. Curly hair doesn’t show oil as much. It keeps it more voluminous as well.
  3. I let my hair down to “air dry” immediately after a workout. It helps let the sweat dry from my hair, and keeps it from clumping.
  4. I keep my hair pinned away from my face. My face can be oily, so keeping my fair away from my face keeps it from collecting more oil.

It’s the little things that help, but they make the biggest difference. I hate washing my hair, and dry shampoo is ketchy as fuck. So I stick to these four easy tips to have socially acceptable hair.

Leave a Reply

