PB&J Breakfast Bowl

Pull up variations are happening hardcore at the box right now leading up to the Crossfit Open. I’ve finally got kipping pull ups and have been busting out 10 in a row lately, which is crazy because I just got my first one a month ago, and I used to only practice them during a WOD.

Even more exciting, I helped my friend get hers, and she’s only been crossfitting for 4 months. She’s absolutely killing it, and it’s so much more fun having someone practice with me. We practice for 10 minutes after every metcon, and it’s made all the difference.

I’m coming for butterfly pull ups next. They’re so beautiful.

There’s something about eating out of bowls that is extremely satisfying. Maybe because it’s portable and I’m always on the go. Maybe because my motor skills are struggling and bowls are the only way I’m not wearing most of my food. I wish it were the first option, but it’s more likely the second.

I actually use almond butter in this recipe instead of peanut butter, but AB&J doesn’t paint the same image. I loved this almond milk yogurt, too. It reminds me of toaster strudel filling, aka my childhood. And it has blueberries in it. All of the wins right there.

PB&J Bowl

Time: 8 hours + 5 minutes                                      Serves: 1

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup gluten free quick oats
  • 1/3- 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 container kite hill blueberry yogurt
  • 1 tbsp. almond butter
  • Optional toppings: blueberries, chopped almonds, granola, etc.

Instructions:

  1. Mix together quick oats with almond milk in a jar, and leave in the fridge for 5 hours or up to overnight, to make overnight oats. You should end up with a thick consistency.
  2. Pour oats into half of a bowl, and pour yogurt into the other half.
  3. Heat almond butter up for 15-30 seconds in the microwave until you get a liquid consistency, and drizzle over the top.
  4. Add any additional toppings you want and enjoy!

pbj-bowl-2

Leave a Reply

