Chocolate Hazelnut Overnight Oats

17.1 is officially in the books. Or, it will be once I sit down and actually put my score in online. The least fun I never want to have again. Except if a friend asked, I would do it again. J think I could get a few more reps. If there’s one thing that Crossfit does to me, it’s leave me wanting more.

This was the first Open workout that I completed Rx. Last year, I had only been doing Crossfit for 2 months and weighed a whopping 115 pounds at 5′ 8″, so it goes to say I was captain of the struggle ship, even though I loved every moment.

But this year, I promised myself to Rx every workout that I physically can. As long as there isn’t a move I physically cannot do (like HSPUs or muscle ups) or a weight I physically cannot find a way to pick up, I am doing the WOD Rx. And I’ve already pushed myself farther than I thought I could go.

The last time I did dumbbell snatches was in August, and when I tried 35# it nearly sent me backward. So I was freaking out on the inside about attempting 150 snatches at 35#. But I did it, and I was super cautious with my hyperextending elbow, and I probably could have gotten 10 more snatches if I hadn’t started yelling at people who told me to pick the dumbbell back up, but it blows my mind how much progress I’ve made.

This recipe tastes just about as amazing as the feeling of progress and accomplishment that Crossfit gives me. It tastes a little bit like brownie batter, and depending on the type of yogurt you use, its a sweet-tangy combo- like real frozen yogurt. So if you’re about that life, use goat’s milk yogurt.

Chocolate Hazelnut Overnight Oats

Time: 8 hours + 5 minutes                                  Serves: 1

Ingredients

  • 6 oz goat’s milk yogurt, divided in half
  • 1/3 cup gluten free quick oats
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/ 2 scoop chocolate protein powder (I use PureWOD)
  • 2 tbsp. chocolate hazelnut butter (I use Justin’s)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Directions

  • In a small jar or container, mix 1/2 the yogurt, quick oats and almond milk until well combined.
  • Add the vanilla extract, salt, protein powder and hazelnut butter, and use a whisk or fork to mix everything together.
  • Cover and store in the fridge for 8 hours up to overnight.
  • Pour into a bowl, stir in the other 1/2 yogurt, and eat up.

chocolate-hazelnut-1 chocolate-hazelnut-2

Leave a Reply

