Chocolate Tahini Sauce

I don’t know why I’ve been digging chocolate so much. I don’t think I need a reason though. I’ve also been digging nachos. My friend made me nachos after 17.1, and I’m pretty sure they healed my soul. I feel like chocolate nachos may be happening soon…

I swear 90% of my income goes to food in some way. It takes a lot to eat enough to not only maintain my weight, but continue to gain weight. And I don’t buy all organic or grass fed, but I do buy quality when I can, because those foods do have more nutrients and antioxidants, and I would rather eat them than take a pill for all that. But having to stay gluten free, mostly dairy-free, with three big ass meals a day and usually 2-3 snacks gets expensive.

It takes so much more time than people understand. I spend close to 2  hours grocery shopping on Saturdays, and close to 5 hours cooking on Sundays. And that doesn’t cover every meal I eat. I know that I’m lucky to even have the time and resources to do it all. But sometimes I wish it was one less thing to stress and worry about.

One beneficial hack is buying groceries on campus at the little convenience stores. A few have larabars, eggs, salsa and nut butters, so I stalk up on those when I can since we have mandatory dining dollars, but I don’t live on campus so it’s hard to spend them all. They’ve started selling 16 oz jars of organic tahini for $4.50, so I bought them all and have been playing with different ways to eat tahini. Chocolate obviously needed to be added to the equation.

This recipe is great because it’s both a chocolate sauce and a nut butter. Melt it to drizzle over ice cream or yogurt bowls, or keep in the freezer to use in place of a nutbutter and eat with a spoon.

Chocolate Tahini Sauce

Time: 5 minutes                                             Makes: 15 oz

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 2/3 cup tahini
  • 3 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt

Directions

  • Place the coconut oil and tahini in a glass bowl, and heat in the microwave at 30 second increments until completely melted.
  • Whisk together until combined, then add the cocoa powder, vanilla extract and sat, and whisk again.
  • Pour into a glass jar, and store in the fridge.
  • Heat up in microwave to drizzle, or just dive in with a spoon.

chocolate-tahini-sauce

 

Leave a Reply

